incorporated by the Parliament of Canada; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; pension plans organized and administered for the benefit of persons employed in connection with certain federal works, undertakings and businesses; and life insurance issued to certain members of the public service prior to May 1954.

Under the relevant provincial statutes, the Department examines trust companies incorporated in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies incorporated in the Province of Nova Scotia.

International Joint Commission.—This Commission was established under a Britain-United States treaty signed Jan. 11, 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911. The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Government of Canada), is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for decision, provided both countries consent.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Justice.—This Department, established by SC 1868, c. 39, now operates under authority of the Department of Justice Act (RSC 1952, c. 71 as amended by SC 1960, c. 4 and SC 1966, c. 25). The Minister of Justice is the official legal adviser of the Governor General and the legal member of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. It is his duty to see that the administration of public affairs is in accordance with law, to superintend all matters connected with the administration of justice in Canada that are not within the jurisdiction of the provincial governments, to advise upon the legislation and proceedings of the provincial legislatures and generally to advise the Crown upon all matters of law referred to him by the Crown. The Minister of Justice is, ex officio, Her Majesty's Attorney General of Canada. In this capacity it is his duty to advise the heads of the departments of the Government of Canada upon all matters of law connected with such departments, to settle and approve all instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, and to regulate and conduct all litigation for or against the Crown in the right of Canada.

Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (SC 1900, c. 24) and now operates under authority of the Department of Labour Act (RSC 1952, c. 72). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; female employee equal pay; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; and hours of work, minimum wages, annual vacations and holidays with pay. It promotes joint consultation with industry through labourmanagement committees and operates a Women's Bureau. The Department publishes the Labour Gazette and other publications, as well as general information on labour-management, employment, manpower and related subjects.

The Merchant Seamen Compensation Board reports to the Minister of Labour. The Department is the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization. The Unemployment Insurance Commission, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Maritime Transportation Unions, the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and the Canada Labour Relations Board report to Parliament through the Minister of Labour. The Canada Labour Relations Board administers certain provisions of the Industrial Relations and Disputes Investigation Act.

Library of Parliament.—The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c. 21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1952, c. 166 and SC 1955, c. 35. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the House of Commons Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, Members of the Privy Council, Members of the Senate and the House of Commons, Officers of the two Houses, Justices of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court, and members of the Press Gallery. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. A special research branch serves Parliamentarians only. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and is responsible for the control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a Joint Committee appointed by the two Houses.